Saturday, November 21, 2015

Día's 20th Anniversary and New Día Dynamos

Pat Mora newsletter
Social Media Icons        November 2015

Dan & Kay Moore
Dan & Kay Moore

Thom Eberhardt & Christy Vasquez
Thom Eberhardt & Christy Vasquez
Día's 20th Anniversary and New Día Dynamos

November: the month for giving thanks. We are excited that First Book will be coordinating the Mora Award as part of our 20th Anniversary next April, grateful to ALSC for its consistent Día work, and to our creative and persistent Día Dynamos. Gracias! This month, we're especially grateful to two couples, our new Dynamo Couples, who have invested in our upcoming 20th celebration.

Dr. Dan Moore (Vice President-Programs Retired, W.K. Kellogg Foundation) and Dr. Kay Moore (Dean and Professor Emerita, North Carolina State University, Retired) are both long-time Día supporters.

Christy Vasquez, a retired librarian, and Thom Eberhardt, a retired screenwriter, first heard about Día a few months ago. To assist in promoting Día's 20th Anniversary nationally, they created and filmed wonderful short Día video spots that visually convey bookjoy. Look for the spots in January on

Holiday books from Pat Mora

Holiday Bookjoy!
Sample these books as you consider holiday gift books for family and friends, and to donate to schools, libraries, and community centers.

Straight from the heart of a child flows this lighthearted bilingual celebration of family, friendship, and fun. Come share the joy and think about all life's little pleasures for which we can say, "¡Gracias! Thanks!" (Also available in audio.)

Yum! ¡Mmm! ¡Qué Rico! America's Sprouting and Yum! ¡Mmm! ¡Qué Rico! Brotes de las Américas
Enjoy a luscious collection of haiku celebrating foods native to the Americas. Brimming with imagination and fun, these poems capture the tasty essence of foods that have delighted, united, and enriched our lives for centuries. (Available in Spanish, English and audio editions.)

The Gift of the Poinsettia: El regalo de la flor de nochebuena
As he participates in the festivities of Las Posadas, preparing for the birth of Christ, a young Mexican boy worries about what gift he will have for the Christ Child.

A Piñata in a Pine Tree: A Latino Twelve Days of Christmas
A festive Latino twist on "The Twelve Days of Christmas" populated with piñatas in place of partridges, as well as burritos bailando (dancing donkeys), lunitas cantando (singing moons) and much more, all displayed in wonderful, vivid colors.

The Bakery Lady/La señora de la panadería
In this colorful bilingual picture book, Mónica yearns to be a baker like her grandparents. Her first real test comes as she and her beloved grandparents prepare for the coming celebration of January sixth, Feast of the Three Kings, el Día de los Reyes Magos.

The Beautiful Lady: Our Lady of Guadalupe
La hermosa Señora: Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe
Celebrate the Feast Day of Our Lady of Guadalupe on December 12! One of Mexico's most-loved stories is told as a story-within-a-story, making it more accessible to children and framing it within a contemporary celebration of the "special" day.

Explore curriculum activities and classroom ideas for these holiday titles as well as for all of Pat's books.

Illustration from Yum by Pat MoraIllustration by Rafael López from Yum! ¡Mmm! ¡Qué Rico! America's Sproutings.

A Thanksgiving Message from Pat
Holidays are a time for gratitude, friends, family--and good food! Thanks to each of you who creatively promotes bookjoy and Día throughout the year and who shares bookjoy with more and more children and families. Together, let's make Día a national tradition.

Friday, November 20, 2015

Introducing the 2016 Mora Award!

First Book logo
Introducing the 2016 Mora Award!
As part of our ongoing commitment to promote literacy and celebrate cultural diversity, First Book is proud to announce that we are working with author and poet Pat Mora to present the annual Estela and Raúl Mora Award in 2016!
Established by Pat and her siblings in honor of their parents, this esteemed award recognizes programs that embrace the spirit of Children's Day/Book Day, El día de los niños/El día de los libros, (known as "Día").
Día is a nationally recognized initiative that emphasizes the importance of literacy for all children, from all backgrounds, and creatively links them to the gift of reading. In honor of Día's 20th anniversary in April 2016, the Mora Award will be open for the first time to school-based and school-led partnerships that adopt Día as a way of connecting all children to bookjoy and promoting literacy all year round, culminating with Children's Day/Book Day celebrations in April.
We are excited to seek nominations for the Mora Award from within the First Book community in 2016, but we just couldn't wait to share the news! In the meantime, share bookjoy with all of the children you serve by exploring the variety of fun, culturally relevant, and engaging titles available on the First Book Marketplace.

To learn more, contact Mora Award coordinator Roxana Barillas at
Happy Reading!
Your friends at First Book 

Email -  |  Call - (866) READ-NOW    

Sunday, October 18, 2015

NMLA Conference "Dia"

"One day, 20 years of Dia de Los Ninos/Dia de Los Libros"

Bookjoy!  ¡Alegría en los libros!

Presentation on Thursday, October 22 at NMLA

  • Poet and Award Winning Author, Pat Mora
  • New Mexico Library Commissioner, Elizabeth Martinez
  • Farmington Public Library, REFORMA de Nuevo Mexico, Flo Trujillo

The 2015 New Mexico Library Association’s Annual Conference will be held at the Marriott Albuquerque Pyramid North, October 21st – 23rd 

Dia2015 NMLA Annual Conference

Texas Book Award! Author, Pat Mora!

Texas Writer Award

Award-winning poet, author, and founder of El dia de los ninos, el dia de los libros, Pat Mora sits down with the Festival's executive director to discuss her literary career and pioneering work as a bilingual literacy advocate.

Prolific author and champion of literacy Pat Mora receiving the Texas Writer Award from the TBF's executive director Lois Kim!  ‪#‎txbookfest‬

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Four Corners Storytelling Festival -Farmington, NM

Four Corners Storytelling Festival

Farmington- Sponsored by the Farmington Public Library
@ Berg Park and Totah Theater
October 9 & 10, 2015

Meet the Storytellers
Schedule of Events

Rudolfo Anaya

The University of New Mexico Department of English presents:

The 2015 Rudolfo & Patricia Anaya Lecture on the Literature of the Southwest
Albuquerque author Rudolfo Anaya has had a book of his poems published by the Oklahoma University Press. (Morgan Petroski/Albuquerque Journal)--- Anne Hillerman
Author of Tony Hillerman's Landscape, Spider Woman's Daughter, and Rock With Wings
Thursday, October 22 @ 7pm - Reception to follow
George Pearl Hall Auditorium

This event is free and open to the public

UNM Co-sponsors:  Center for Southwest Research, Department of English, Creative Writing ZProgram, Department of History, Feminist Research Institute, The center for the Southwest, University College, University Libraries

Rudolfo Anaya publishes poetry collection